The PAY TO PLAY Challenge

There’s been a noticeable increase in “composers” or “licensing experts” trying to charge upfront fees to submit music for licensing opportunities on behalf of musicians.

I invite all of them to participate in my PAY TO PLAY challenge. Here’s the guidelines.

  • The “licensing expert” in question sends me their most recent ASCAP/BMI/SESAC writers royalty check.
  • If they’re earning more money than one of my top three writers, I’ll officially endorse their company on my YouTube channel, on panels etc..

Unless they take me up on my challenge (and win), they’re ripping you off.

Any takers?

One thought on “The PAY TO PLAY Challenge

  1. >Unless they take me up on my challenge (and win), they’re ripping you off.<

    Respectfully, I don’t see a correlation between being ripped off and someone refusing to take and win your challenge. I suppose that I could be ripped off by someone taking you up on your challenge, just as easily as I could be ripped off by someone not.

    Saying “I will never” to pay to play opportunities is of course the sure-fire way to not get ripped off, and may be good advice for some. On the other hand, because of a pay to play opportunity, I recently had a placement paying $10,000 total, before any backend. My share of this licensing fee was paid promptly, professionally and without problem. I’ve had other smaller success’s paying for submissions.

    I agree with you and am mostly against pay to play. However, not all are evil scammers. And perhaps my $10,000 fee is peanuts compared to top writers, but it sure came in handy here.

    Like

Leave a Reply

