Kaskade Event – Masterpass #ThankTheFans House

 

Grammy week in Los Angeles. I find myself at the nexus of where creativity and corporate sponsorships meet, the old Tower Records building on Sunset Blvd. It’s now a Gibson Guitars-sponsored event space.

Since Deckstar represents the host of the event, KCRW’s Jason Bentley, we all scored passes. Most people were excited because it had an open bar. I was excited because it would give me something interesting to FILM.

I was at this venue last week for the Chris Cuffaro photography exhibit and didn’t bring my camera. I had one thought on my mind as I walked in the door : CINEMATIC REDEMPTION.

The event had a recording studio where guests can record a song and print a vinyl record of said song. I thought it took weeks of planning and set-up to print vinyl. Turns out it only takes 15 minutes!!

A few of the Deckstar cats and I hit up the mobile recording studio and did some spectacularly awful music. It was FUN though and that’s what matters!! They left me with the vinyl recording, going to make some synth patches out of the cacophony.

The most unexpected part of the night was meeting Brian Kelly AKA The Points Guy. I just nabbed myself 100,000 Chase Rewards Points by reading his blog. I’m using them on a lie-flat seat to Europe this spring.

Screen Shot 2017-02-14 at 8.28.58 PM.png

 

The first Grammy nominated act i caught was Sofi Tukker, a cool sounding duo with some sort of tree looking sculpture that doubled as a drum machine (check the video above for reference). They danced around on stage and in the crowd while demonstrating proficiency on their respective instruments.

Kaskade hit the stage for his performance after a brief convo with Jason Bentley. Kaskade was nominated for the “Best Remix” Grammy, an award that was eventually taken by RAC (woo hoo!).

Before leaving i ran into Jane Zhang, a Chinese pop star and Deckstar artist was also in the house. She most recently released a song here in the USA featuring Timbaland. Was cool to meet her and her team in person!!

 

After i left i got Taco Bell.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

